Safeguarding

The chaplaincy team, our partner denominations, and the Universities we serve are committed to safeguarding as an integral part of the life and ministry of the Chaplaincy.

A number of different organisations are represented at the Chaplaincy. If you are concerned that someone you know is at risk of being abused or presents a risk to others, please seek advice from any one of the people listed below.

If there is immediate risk or danger, please phone the police (999 for an emergency or 101 for non-emergency calls) or the Leeds City Council Adult Safeguarding Team on 0113 2224401 (office hours), 0113 2409536 (out of hours).

Universities Chaplaincy in Leeds

Robin Fishwick –  Co-ordinating Chaplain

r.fishwick@leeds.ac.uk ;0113 343 5073

Peter Howdle – Chair of Trustees

p.d.howdle@leeds.ac.uk

Universities

(Please follow links to download the Safeguarding Policies of each University)

Leeds Arts University: portal.leeds-art.ac.uk/safeguarding

Katrina Welsh – Designated Safeguarding Lead

katrina.welsh@leeds-art.ac.uk; 0113 202 8054

Leeds Beckett University: www.leedsbeckett.ac.uk/safeguarding/

Jan Daley – Designated Safeguarding Officer

j.daley@leedsbeckett.ac.uk; 0113 81 25773

University of Law: www.law.ac.uk/about/policies/

Gayle Heppell – Senior Tutor, LLB Programme & Student Experience Lead

Gayle.Heppell@law.ac.uk; 01483 216624

Razwana Sharif – Student Welfare Officer

Razwana.Sharif@law.ac.uk; 01483 216286

University of Leeds: www.leeds.ac.uk/secretariat/documents/safeguarding_policy.pdf

Head of School or Iain Moody – University Safeguarding Officer

i.j.moody@leeds.ac.uk; 0113 343 9418

Partner Denominations

(Please click on the denomination to be redirected to their safeguarding policies)

Anglican

The national policy statement ‘Promoting a Safer Church’ can be downloaded from www.churchofengland.org/sites/default/files/2017-12/PromotingSaferChurchWeb.pdf

Contact: Jenny Leccardi – Diocesan Safeguarding Adviser

jenny.leccardi@leeds.anglican.org; 0113 3530 259; 07872 005189

Methodist

Contact: Sue Wishart –  Yorkshire West District Safeguarding Officer

slwishart@gmail.com; 01422 370 417; 07875 195 977

Roman Catholic

Contact: Suzanne Mitchell –  Diocesan Safeguarding Coordinator

suzanne.mitchell@dioceseofleeds.org.uk; 0113 261 8069; 07515 598523

United Reformed Church

Contact: Geraldine Sands – Synod Safeguarding Advisor

gsands.safeguardingurc@outlook.com; 07427857495

Relevant helplines

MACSAS

Support and networking for survivors of sexual abuse by those in ministry 0808 801 0340

NAPAC

National Association for People Abused in Childhood – 0800 085 3330

National Domestic Violence Helpline

0808 200 0247

Samaritans

0845 790 9090

Stop It Now

Helpline for abusers, potential abusers and others concerned with sexual abuse 0808 1000 900